Banner by Bams

Home Server
Old 12-07-2012, 11:52 AM   #1
Atra Lupis
Darkness from Light

Atra Lupis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Within the Dark Heart of Mankind
Posts: 2,400
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Atra Lupis Send a message via Yahoo to Atra Lupis Send a message via Skype™ to Atra Lupis
Awards Showcase
Purity of Fire 5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 2
Default Home Server

This is a rarity for me and is more an opinion bit at present time ....

My room mate and I have recently acquired a full functioning (aside from needing a new OS - we're not going with any of the *nix variations at present) Dell PowerEdge 2650 server.

Going by the specifications listed here, and by what the prior owner did with it ... it is on the maximum end of its specs for RAM and microprocessor and each of the five RAID hot swap drive bays is presently occupied by a 72GB HDD (Three of the five RAID linked as one drive).

The opinion question is this: Given that we use a router/modem supplied to us by our carrier, what sort of performance can we expect from this system as a combination Music Streaming server/Minecraft Host server?

It should be noted that at the time of purchase, our maximum expenditure range for a used server was - at most - 240. We acquired this one for 150 - one of the five drives having just been replaced.
__________________
Light cannot exist without casting a shadow, thus creating Darkness just as the Darkness cannot exist without the Light to cast and create it.

What does this make me?

I am the Darkness that those of the Light foolishly believe they can be rid of.

"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men ..."

"Would you love a Monsterman?"

"Follow the signs of the Crimson Thunder/We will stay by your side/Let our voices be there, to guide you."

Last edited by Atra Lupis; 12-07-2012 at 11:54 AM. Reason: adding in a footnote
Atra Lupis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-07-2012, 12:13 PM   #2
Jorus
Bee Bully

Jorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,354
My Mood:
Default

What's your upstream bandwidth like? Bear in mind that when Comcast sells 10m internet its 10 down and 2 up.

I have four of these ancient beasts turned off in my racks.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
On a dark and stormy Darkmere Night, the following snippet of conversation happened....

"[22:15] Tracer Graves: problem is, i can manage to play a girl pretty well"

"[22:15] Kristian Ming: you don't need to play a girl very well to escort in sl"
Jorus is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-07-2012, 12:35 PM   #3
Atra Lupis
Darkness from Light

Atra Lupis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Within the Dark Heart of Mankind
Posts: 2,400
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Atra Lupis Send a message via Yahoo to Atra Lupis Send a message via Skype™ to Atra Lupis
Awards Showcase
Purity of Fire 5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 2
Default

Upstream varies between 3 and 5 mb/sec with occasional spikes to near 10.

Haven't had many issues using the home PC as an MC server (never used it to hose music streams).

The Dell's mainly so we can move hosting off of the PC itself.
Atra Lupis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-07-2012, 04:12 PM   #4
Jorus
Bee Bully

Jorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,354
My Mood:
Default

Really your only issue then is machine age and the dependability issues involved. That model is 8 years old. I'd see if I could stuff free esx on it then install windows on that so you can migrate it at will.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Jorus is offline   Reply With Quote
The following user says thanks:

Old 12-07-2012, 05:42 PM   #5
Atra Lupis
Darkness from Light

Atra Lupis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Within the Dark Heart of Mankind
Posts: 2,400
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Atra Lupis Send a message via Yahoo to Atra Lupis Send a message via Skype™ to Atra Lupis
Awards Showcase
Purity of Fire 5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 2
Default

Thanks Jorus. My room mate has a question regarding Microsoft's server OS: Is there a functional difference between the Business edition and the standard edition of the server OS they offer?
Atra Lupis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-07-2013, 05:29 PM   #6
Atra Lupis
Darkness from Light

Atra Lupis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Within the Dark Heart of Mankind
Posts: 2,400
My Mood:
Send a message via AIM to Atra Lupis Send a message via Yahoo to Atra Lupis Send a message via Skype™ to Atra Lupis
Awards Showcase
Purity of Fire 5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 2
Default

New question here: Is it possible to set a Raid controller to allow me to use all five hard drives in the Power edge system?
Atra Lupis is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-10-2013, 04:22 PM   #7
Jorus
Bee Bully

Jorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,354
My Mood:
Default

Set up different logical drives in the raid setup menu.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Jorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Second Life® and Linden Lab® are trademarks of Linden Research, Inc.
Second Citizen MK II Forums are not affiliated with or sponsored by Linden Research.
© 2009 - 2011 Second Citizen MKII [SC MKII]
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |