Go Back   Second Citizen MK II > The Mainland: Second Life® > Content Creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

2048x1024 textures?
Old 08-17-2010, 02:16 AM   #1
Fmeh
Meow.

Fmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tacoma WA USA
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to Fmeh Send a message via MSN to Fmeh Send a message via Yahoo to Fmeh Send a message via Skype™ to Fmeh
Awards Showcase
5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 1
Default 2048x1024 textures?

Someone recently sent me some textures that were 2048x1024. How did they do this?

They were pictures of his cats. He said he just uploaded them and there they were. It's strange.
__________________
A pair of pants. Oh yeah, and a shirt. And boots. And stuff.


Fmeh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-2010, 02:24 AM   #2
Penny
Moo!

Penny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: On my way to New York City!
Posts: 83
My Mood:
Default

That seems....extremely unnecessary. I had no idea it was possible. I kinda hope it was a bug.
Penny is offline   Reply With Quote
This user agrees. But then, who wouldn't, right?

Old 08-17-2010, 02:27 AM   #3
Uncle Fester
Drank the last Dr. Pepper

Uncle Fester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,889
My Mood:
Default

Some phones and cameras have this super duper reso setting.
My crackberry would save pictures in a 1920x1034 setting and that wasnt on the super setting.
Uncle Fester is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-2010, 02:28 AM   #4
Govi
Ça va chier.

Govi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Rez Date: Mar 06, 2004
Location: Left coast
Posts: 20,631
My Mood:
Awards Showcase
28th 5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 2
Default

In SL? With what client? Maybe his client rejiggers the "asset server" limits on texture size in some clever way. BTW, are you sure your client is reporting the texture size correctly?
__________________
Govi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-2010, 02:31 AM   #5
Tracer Graves
Skype Mafia

Tracer Graves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,011
My Mood:
Default

I just want more than 10^3 on prims alfreakinready (without having to use megaprims, ofc).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasted Engineer View Post
There are worms living in your anus...


SLurl: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Vista/195/68/35
Tracer Graves is offline   Reply With Quote
2 users agreed. You should agree too, c'mon, you know you want to. (click it, click it now!)

Old 08-17-2010, 02:35 AM   #6
Fmeh
Meow.

Fmeh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tacoma WA USA
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via AIM to Fmeh Send a message via MSN to Fmeh Send a message via Yahoo to Fmeh Send a message via Skype™ to Fmeh
Awards Showcase
5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Govi View Post
In SL? With what client? Maybe his client rejiggers the "asset server" limits on texture size in some clever way. BTW, are you sure your client is reporting the texture size correctly?
Yep, it's reporting it correctly. It's just mind-boggling to me.
Fmeh is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-17-2010, 04:47 AM   #7
Lance Corrimal
old fart

Lance Corrimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
My Mood:
Send a message via Yahoo to Lance Corrimal
Default

ages ago textures could be up to 2048x2048.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralektra Breda
Your maturity rating is directly reflected by the number of question marks you place at the end of a question.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lindal Kidd
Those who enter any virtual world with the main purpose of making money at it...probably won't.
Lance Corrimal is offline   Reply With Quote
The following user says thanks:
This user agrees. But then, who wouldn't, right?

Old 08-19-2010, 11:21 AM   #8
Troy Vogel
Emeritus Prof. of ZOMG

Troy Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mission Home Store Island / SL
Posts: 838
My Mood:
Awards Showcase
5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 1
Default

The other day I got an error message when I tried to upload an image and accidentally picked an unprocessed .png from SL that was quite large. It said, you can not upload images larger than 2048x2048. I thought hmmmm strange... I thought the engine sized everything down to 1024x1024 anyway... but I was busy and never thought twice about it...

maybe that was not a fluke event.... who knows maybe we can use 2048x2048.

Honestly we can use that every now and then for insanely large huge prims.
__________________


Flickr Stream: Mission Home Store Flickr Photos
Blog:Mission Home Store Blog
PLURK: Follow Me on PLURK

Scan me with your mobile device to get SLURL!
Troy Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-2010, 11:25 AM   #9
Troy Vogel
Emeritus Prof. of ZOMG

Troy Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mission Home Store Island / SL
Posts: 838
My Mood:
Awards Showcase
5k trainwreck 
Total Awards: 1
Default

I just tested yes it still does size things down to 1024x1024.
Troy Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
The following user says thanks:
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Second Life® and Linden Lab® are trademarks of Linden Research, Inc.
Second Citizen MK II Forums are not affiliated with or sponsored by Linden Research.
© 2009 - 2011 Second Citizen MKII [SC MKII]
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |